Dance to an Earth-Beat


Welcome to Biocadence, a blog about the triumphs, hiccups, and day-in-the-life learnings of the sustainable living transitionist! My mission is to entertain, interest, educate, and provide a comfortable forum for sharing sustainable living tips, ideas and inventions. Biocadence is a sustainable living brainstorming platform, intended for environment-lovers in any stage of transition.

In August of 2009, I began to measure my impact on the environment. I started by analyzing my consumption levels. I was shaken by what I found! Although I was embarrassed by the numbers themselves, the realization that I’d consumed so much without taking commensurate joy from the consumption was a shameful kick in the gut. I implemented immediate changes and was fueled by a gratification that vowed to remain with me.

Simplifying my life stripped my anxiety, increased my focus and allowed me to leave a career that I had no passion for. I was delighted when my mornings greeted me with something novel and scrumptious: space and abundance. I had married a new lifestyle and was savoring the honeymoon. Sparks of bliss and spontaneous squeals sprinkled my days. Relief welcomed me to bed each night.

I began to study the global consequences of over-consumption, and was overwhelmed by what I found! Many sources suggest that the ethical way to share our planet with all current and future inhabitants is to become a strict vegan, walk or ride a bicycle for transportation, live on a few thousand dollars a year, and never again visit Bali- my special place!  As I processed information, I found a pattern:

  • Phase 1: Pulse deceleration and a wave of hopelessness, as I fretted about whether such a lifestyle transition was within my reach (accompanied by a keen desire to plunge my hands into bottomless bowls of greasy chips and guacamole).
  • Phase 2:  Pulse acceleration and wildly mobile activity, as I considered the enormous portion of the global population that lives on far less than I was daydreaming about cutting down to.

It occurred to me that this transition would be physical, emotional and spiritual, in addition to financial and practical. Intent on avoiding a heart attack, I adjusted my framework. As I applied patience, consistency and understanding to my process, I celebrated the thought that my transition would be a creative outlet and a bridge to my connection with all of life’s creatures. I came to understand that over-consumption is, in many ways, similar to any other addiction.

From infancy, we’ve processed the notion that we’d feel whole if only we had a bigger burger, an ever-expanding designer wardrobe, a shinier diamond, a wrinkle-less face, a yacht, a jet, a spaceship… Ay Caramba!… I cringe as the conditioned puppet inside me responds: “That jet charter would be bad ass; I definitely need a pair of high heels with a red sole; Ah man, my husband would look hot in a sport car!”

Allow me to catch my breath… Inhale, exhale… calm.

Although I congratulate and admire those who jump off the consumption train cold turkey, I know that slow progress is my path to sustainable behavioral change. I believe that the transition can be joyful, guilt-free, creative, collaborative, and filled with quality-of-life deliciousness! I believe that we are privileged to have the choice between cold turkey and baby-steps rehabilitation strategies. This is a gift our children may not have.

I’d like to celebrate by practicing activity and hope, immediately, in my own transition. We are not facing an all-or-nothing cause quite yet. When we present it as such, many give up before they try. My hypothesis is that quality-of-life increases as we become more in sync with our unique bio-cadence. I will find my earth-beat and dance to its rhythm. I will dance hard! I’d love for you to join me!

Biocadence entries will include:

  • Motivational Musings
  • Global Events Discussions
  • Tips from MyCadence and community volunteers
  • Features of organizations, movement leaders & guidance tools
  • Short summaries of related publications

About Biocadence

Hello! I’m Annie Tichenor, Founder of Biocadence, LLC (www.biocadence.wordpress.com). I hope to ignite a path toward over-consumption recovery, global sibling interconnectedness, and quality-of-life design. A few years ago, I began measuring my impact on the environment. Since then I’ve analyzed my energy-use habits while researching the impact of over-consumption on the global hunger epidemic, global relations and global quality of life. This process has driven me to notice the disparity between my environmental impact in the past and my footprint goal for the future. My drive to change my own habits has evolved into a desire to share my strategies. I crafted the Biocadence Recipe and the Impact/Disturbance (ID) Model, to illustrate the critical role of behavioral sustainability in the sustainable lifestyle transition process. Biocadence is focused on increasing the accessibility of sustainable living and facilitating the rhythm of humanity in harmony with nature. The vision of Biocadence is to build a community of environment-lovers who come together to leverage each other’s knowledge and celebrate sustainable living accomplishments. Learn about the Biocadence Recipe and ID Model: http://www.biocadence.org/biocadence.html

6 responses to “Dance to an Earth-Beat”

  1. cheri says :

    What a fantastic blog! You are an amazing writer Annie and so inspirational!
    Thank you for sharing your innermost feelings and beliefs!
    I hope you can help me along this path also!
    Love,
    Cheri

  2. Ellen says :

    Wonderful to read this, Annie! What you’re writing about is the “New Life”…. Over consumption is one thing. Appreciating and surrounding youself with beauty is something else. I look forward to reading more….

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Recycle Your Recycled Toothbrush! « MyCadence - March 7, 2012
  2. Reusable Paper Towels « MyCadence - March 14, 2012
  3. Triumphs AND Hiccups « MyCadence - March 21, 2012

Leave a Reply

