Fork the Road!


Hello Biocadence friends! This week, I write about a particularly special catalyst that forked my road and sent me along the path of the sustainable living transitionist. It is important to treasure these defining moments. If we let them, they will connect the fabric of our stories and hold post as the sentinels of our most venerable ambitions.

In October 2010, my husband and I visited Bali. After one day on Bali the blood pumping through my system seemed to sparkle, my steps felt light, and my spirit was lifted into the puffy clouds of gratitude.  Was it the island air? The fantastic food? The simple freedom of vacation? The sound of the ocean? Had someone drugged me? As 2010 recedes further into the past, I become more convinced that a good old fashioned epiphany and the humble grace of the Balinese people induced my cataclysmic euphoria.

Early in our visit, we toured the Green School. We were led through the grounds by Co-Founder and bamboo enthusiast, John Hardy. During the tour I felt a physical and emotional harmony. My body understood what Mr. Hardy was illustrating. I wanted to jump and cartwheel and scream: “I remember! I remember!” A familiarity with the knowledge of our ancestors had been renewed! The bounty of simplicity and the sweetness of giving back to the soil crystallized. I was positively tickled to learn of a curriculum that honors these principals as sacred and fundamental!

The Green School practices Bio-Intensive Gardening strategies, as a vessel for teaching and feeding the students and residents. In 2010, I did not fully understand Mr. Hardy’s commentary as he pointed to the edible landscaping to the left, to the right and straight ahead! In my examinations of sustainable solutions to the consequences of over-consumerism, I’m steadily pulled back to the soil for answers and reminded of my Green School tour. Jack Johnson’s lyrics echo: “Puzzle pieces in the ground, but no one ever seems to be digging […] the answers could be found, we could learn from digging down, but no one ever seems to be digging”. Founders John and Cynthia Hardy have been “digging“, to be sure!

The Green School is a boarding school that integrates sustainability into the curriculum while focusing on Math, Science and English. “We want children to develop spiritual awareness and emotional intuition, and to encourage them to be in awe of life’s possibilities.” (Source: http://www.greenschool.org/) 20% of the student population is reserved for scholarship students from Bali and other Indonesian Islands (Click to read about sponsoring a student). The Green School also offers weekend and week-long Green Camp experiences for families and/or individuals!

I yearn to return to the Green School. Until I can visit Bali for months at a time, I am sobered by my inability to reconcile 36 hours of round trip flying with my footprint goal. For now, I choose to serenade the memory instead.

As I reminisce, I will share images from the tour with you! **All photos were taken by my talented husband and artful photographer, Dan Tichenor.

Welcome Bridge:

Structures are open air and built with bamboo:

Edible landscaping covers the property:

Administration building. “No Shoes Please”!:

When it’s too warm for outdoor learning, the “indoor” classroom is used. A small air conditioning unit pumps cold air into a canvas shell that is attached to the floor around a classroom of desks:

“The only way to make truly sustainable architectures is to connect our buildings to nature – not insulate them from it!” – Rachel Armstrong

While I record personal triumphs, hiccups and day-in-the-life learnings, I am slowly concocting not only a job for myself, but a purpose. I am fueled by remembering the fork in my road. Creating Biocadence is a deluge of ferociously exhilarating liberation. The reality of the challenge strikes, evoking a gasp. The water plunges over me.  The chilling refreshment frees me. I see vivid abundance and possibility in my closed lids. I lift my chin from the current of daily life and calmly breathe through smiling lips. As the rush reverberates, I offer appreciation to the Green School!

Please support Biocadence by subscribing to this blog, “sharing” my content using the one-click buttons below, following the Biocadence Facebook page, by “liking” it, and by strutting your sustainable self and showing the world that living more sustainably is the way to go!

Quicklink to previous posts:

Triumphs AND Hiccups

Reusable Paper Towels

Recycle Your Recycled Toothbrush

Is Eating Meat Sustainable?

Dance to an Earth-Beat

Tags: , , ,

About Biocadence

Hello! I’m Annie Tichenor, Founder of Biocadence, LLC (www.biocadence.wordpress.com). I hope to ignite a path toward over-consumption recovery, global sibling interconnectedness, and quality-of-life design. A few years ago, I began measuring my impact on the environment. Since then I’ve analyzed my energy-use habits while researching the impact of over-consumption on the global hunger epidemic, global relations and global quality of life. This process has driven me to notice the disparity between my environmental impact in the past and my footprint goal for the future. My drive to change my own habits has evolved into a desire to share my strategies. I crafted the Biocadence Recipe and the Impact/Disturbance (ID) Model, to illustrate the critical role of behavioral sustainability in the sustainable lifestyle transition process. Biocadence is focused on increasing the accessibility of sustainable living and facilitating the rhythm of humanity in harmony with nature. The vision of Biocadence is to build a community of environment-lovers who come together to leverage each other’s knowledge and celebrate sustainable living accomplishments. Learn about the Biocadence Recipe and ID Model: http://www.biocadence.org/biocadence.html

One response to “Fork the Road!”

  1. Dalva says :

    your texts are worthy a trophy, congratulations.http://www.cathu.net

Leave a Reply

