Triumphs AND Hiccups – 2nd Edition


Hello friends! Thank you for joining me for the 2nd Edition of Triumphs and Hiccups!

The weather is changing, the birds are vocal and I am feeling the creation-focused vive of spring! These last few weeks have been soul-lifting.  In my sustainable living transition, having fun and maintaining endurance while sharing my process is my goal. Information about global affairs as they relate to sustainability is my fuel. As such, our blog post “The Hunger Games”… Fiction or Non-Fiction was very important to me! We are thrilled that 79 people have shared it with their networks — Thank you! Biocadence is revving it’s motors and I’m excited about what is to come!

I believe that living more sustainably improves quality of life by healing the connection to our human bio-cadence! I have faith that an understanding of how consumption is related to global issues infuses human beings with a desire to live more sustainably. I believe that we can slowly taper our energy-wasting behaviors, without noticing a squeeze. Some consumptive behaviors may hold a great deal of value to us. By analyzing priorities and incorporating an increasingly acute knowledge of the impact of our choices, we can make more meaningful decisions about when/how/why we choose to consume! I like to take inventory of my triumphs and hiccups once a month or so. I have decided to share Triumphs and Hiccups with my readers in order to:

  • Hold myself accountable to transition goals by charting progress and identifying areas for improvement
  • Share details about sustainable-living behavior change that readers may implement in their own lives
  • Create a recreational and judgement-free outlet for discussion of consumptive behavior
  • Supplement my global relations discussions, moral musings and instructional videos with humble confessions

Full disclosure… 1,2,3… Go!

Triumphs:

  • I would love to stop soliciting grocery stores! This is an ambitious goal and the process takes gradual weaning. Buying most of our food at the farmer’s market has helped us minimize Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods purchases. I decided to only purchase what I can hold in my hands during my trips to the grocery store. Since the first edition of Triumphs AND Hiccups (T&H-1), this strategy has worked brilliantly! I have not needed a cart nor a bag, and the visit is short, light-weight and inexpensive. I am forced to eliminate items that are not “must haves”.
  • We’ve purchased chicken three times, since T&H-1. I bought 2 whole unprocessed chickens (i.e. no giblet bag… eek), one from our local farmer’s market and one from Whole Foods. This supports smaller operations and minimal food processing. We bought pieces of chicken once: breast and thigh. Although we do not favor chicken thigh, the common preference for chicken breast ensures that it is sold in much higher quantities than the remaining chicken parts, if we only buy chicken breast. Buying just one piece of the chicken supports larger operations. Every piece of every animal is precious to the small farmer. If they are only able to sell one part of an animal, they are priced out of the market for that food item, leaving us with fewer sustainable options!

  • Our dishwasher has not been used once since T&H-1! I love reporting this. Excuse me for a moment while I celebrate with a yodel: “I… yi-yi-yi-yi”!!!
  • We asked a farmer’s market vendor about the greens of beets; he shared that they are delicious! I separated the root from the green and made separate dishes. I sautéed the greens and served them to my husband, who exclaimed that they were a little more sweet than chard or kale:)! Amen, they are sweeter. Delightful flavor accompanies the satisfaction of minimizing food scraps!

  • “A single plastic bag can take up to 1,000 years to degrade.” (Source: Facts About the Plastic Bag Pandemic) We bought compostable/biodegradable garbage bags from Biocadence. Throwing trash into a land fill is something I’d like to participate in less and less! If we throw something away, the least we can do is use biodegradable bags. This way, our trash is not enveloped by a petroleum-based plastic bag that blocks the trash from it’s re-entry into the life-cycle for up to 1000 years! Click here to view online purchasing details.
  • My husband changed out wasted light bulbs with energy saving bulbs. They will last 9 years! Yeehah, baby!
  • I no longer charge my phone while asleep. 8 hours is far more than my phone needs for a full charge. I charge my phone during the day and unplug it before it reaches full charge in order to ensure that I’m not pulling electricity from the grid for a full battery.
  • We purchased biodegradable shampoo, conditioner and body wash.
  • When we receive offers in the mail, they often include an unnecessary return envelope. I am saving these. There is no reason that I can’t use these for informal mailings of my own.

  • We print on both sides of recycled paper. I’m reaching further by keeping every piece of paper mailed to me and using the other side for informal printing for home and office.
  • We are unplugging devices that are not in use, as they pull from the grid just by being plugged in. Using a power strip for devices that we use frequently through the day allows us to “unplug” them in unison, by turning off the power strip (Great idea, sister Liz!).

  • We made zero Taco Bell runs!!!! Yeehah and hallelujah!
  • At an Earth Day picnic we brought reusables (knives, forks, tupperware, water bottles, cutting board, a cellulose paper towel and cloth napkins). We brought our food scraps home for composting. With the exception of one paper plate, we had no waste.

Hiccups:

  • Eating at restaurants is a form of relaxation and celebration of a week of hard work. It is a time for me and my husband to enjoy food, music, and people-watching. We get to reconnect, focus on each other, and skip the cooking and dish-washing stages. We have eaten out approximately 1x/week. I must confess, I don’t know if I can sacrifice this luxury. When I contemplate the possibility, I feel very sad.
  • I took 2 long, hot showers. These are such a comfort. I wonder how my ancestors went without them:)
  • On a warm day, I was waiting for my husband in the car. I turned the car off and quickly overheated. I turned the car back on, and used the air conditioner to cool down!

In the next edition of Triumphs and Hiccups, I would love to share some input from our readers! What are your triumphs and hiccups? We’d love to hear from you! I suppose that everyone has a trick or two up their sleeves. My father-in-law taught me how to dry my reusable produce bags, just by doing what he always does.

He didn’t think twice about it; likely because he has always done it! That was a trick up his sleeve that he may not have considered special, until a willing student observed and learned!!!!

Adiós, friends! Until we meet again,  strut your sustainable self and show the world that living more sustainably is the way to go!

Thank you for reading Biocadence! Support Biocadence by subscribing to this blog, “sharing” our content using the one-click buttons below, and by following the Biocadence Facebook page, by “liking” it!

Tags: , ,

About Biocadence

Hello! I’m Annie Tichenor, Founder of Biocadence, LLC (www.biocadence.wordpress.com). I hope to ignite a path toward over-consumption recovery, global sibling interconnectedness, and quality-of-life design. A few years ago, I began measuring my impact on the environment. Since then I’ve analyzed my energy-use habits while researching the impact of over-consumption on the global hunger epidemic, global relations and global quality of life. This process has driven me to notice the disparity between my environmental impact in the past and my footprint goal for the future. My drive to change my own habits has evolved into a desire to share my strategies. I crafted the Biocadence Recipe and the Impact/Disturbance (ID) Model, to illustrate the critical role of behavioral sustainability in the sustainable lifestyle transition process. Biocadence is focused on increasing the accessibility of sustainable living and facilitating the rhythm of humanity in harmony with nature. The vision of Biocadence is to build a community of environment-lovers who come together to leverage each other’s knowledge and celebrate sustainable living accomplishments. Learn about the Biocadence Recipe and ID Model: http://www.biocadence.org/biocadence.html

8 responses to “Triumphs AND Hiccups – 2nd Edition”

  1. Liz Tichenor says :

    Woohoo! So fun to hear about your journey! Glad the power strip is serving you well. 🙂

    • MyCadence says :

      Thanks Sister Liz! You and Jesse are inspiring and your suggestions are always brilliant. The power strip is awesome! Now that the habit is formed, I don’t even have to think about it:)

  2. Alfredo Wied says :

    Thank you for all of the labor on this blog. My mom really likes making time for internet research and it’s really obvious why. Many of us notice all relating to the lively ways you offer sensible things by means of your blog and therefore foster response from other individuals on this area then our own simple princess has always been understanding so much. Take advantage of the rest of the year. You’re performing a wonderful job.

    • MyCadence says :

      Alfredo,
      Wow. Your note fuels me to keep working hard. Thank you for the support and kind words. I will not stop doing my best to deliver a joyful venue for sustainable living collaboration. I look forward to hearing about your triumphs & hiccups at any stage in your personal sustainable living transition and quest for bio-cadence:). I hope that you will return for other articles, and share your thoughts! Consider joining me on Facebook as well, by “liking” the Biocadence page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Biocadence/162629397179476.
      Annie

  3. Micah Voto says :

    My brother recommended I might like this website. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

    • MyCadence says :

      Micah- Your note makes me smile, and makes my day! I’m so glad you read T&H-2:) and chose to comment! Please come back for more sometime. I’d love to hear your comments on other posts and your triumphs & hiccups at any stage of sustainable living transition! Join me on Facebook! “Liking” the Biocadence page means that 1-3 of my posts will show in your news feed, per day. I like to share the most interesting industry news, easy sustainable living adjustment tips, and inspirational musings. http://www.facebook.com/pages/Biocadence/162629397179476

  4. Tiffiny Prat says :

    high quality power strips are needed if you want to ensure the safety of your personal computer. I always buy top quality power strips at home.:”*,” With appreciation vitamin benefits site

Leave a Reply

