Morning Carries Bravery in Her Basket


I love morning. Anticipation… Inventory… Bravery… Morning carries bravery in her basket.

There are barb prongs uprooted from my skin… Layers of caging removed… Disillusions soothed… Saved in a rattling tin can, for the days when I need proof.

Someone said I couldn’t feel light on my cheeks, because I’m bad, because I’m wrong, because I’m weak. Spirit penitentiary has rules that change with each move we make. Victory only comes in discarding the need to stake.

What if there is no sun in my soul? I hold my breath… What if they’re correct? I open the door in spite of them, in spite of myself, and step forward into delicious white… blessed.

At last I’m free, outside my cell. But still I stay close, feeling dirt under my bouncing frame. If I could take my captors with me, no magnet would remain.

All of me dances… even my face… even my hair. Feet drum. Stamping silent cries. Defusing the mirage. I submit to a cadence my soul has always known, banishing the demons back to their home.

Most of my scars are beauty marks now, others are infected… Iron slivers, bits of wood, bloody shards yet rejected.

“One day soon, happiness won’t feel so rebellious,” she whispers… “Each fragment will know that self-love is not self-ish.”

“How does freedom feel?”, probes Mother Earth. I want to answer her with a 24-carat glimmer in my voice, and so I search.

I close my eyes and I see: A transgressed limp…  Trombones crying… Transitory cacophony… And I’m inhaling and exhaling… And the shine is not in my voice, but in my tearing eyes, and I say:  “I’ll have to get back to you on that; all I can do today is dance”.

Squeeze hugs and hopes that you are dancing too! Annie, at Biocadence.

Quicklinks to Most Popular Biocadence Posts:

“The Hunger Games”… Fiction or Non-Fiction?

What is Ethical Eating?… Is Eating Meat Ethical?

Use Biodegrable Trash Bags!

Embracing the Fulcrum: Reconciling My Belief in the Law of Attraction With My Sustainable Living Transition

Tags: , , , ,

About Biocadence

Hello! I’m Annie Tichenor, Founder of Biocadence, LLC (www.biocadence.wordpress.com). I hope to ignite a path toward over-consumption recovery, global sibling interconnectedness, and quality-of-life design. A few years ago, I began measuring my impact on the environment. Since then I’ve analyzed my energy-use habits while researching the impact of over-consumption on the global hunger epidemic, global relations and global quality of life. This process has driven me to notice the disparity between my environmental impact in the past and my footprint goal for the future. My drive to change my own habits has evolved into a desire to share my strategies. I crafted the Biocadence Recipe and the Impact/Disturbance (ID) Model, to illustrate the critical role of behavioral sustainability in the sustainable lifestyle transition process. Biocadence is focused on increasing the accessibility of sustainable living and facilitating the rhythm of humanity in harmony with nature. The vision of Biocadence is to build a community of environment-lovers who come together to leverage each other’s knowledge and celebrate sustainable living accomplishments. Learn about the Biocadence Recipe and ID Model: http://www.biocadence.org/biocadence.html

4 responses to “Morning Carries Bravery in Her Basket”

  1. mimijk says :

    Thank you for including one of my posts in your list of popular posts – I am happily surprised and delighted!

  2. Jesse Tichenor says :

    this reminded me of a song i’ve been enjoying lately–

Leave a Reply

